Weekend with the Parents!

I was so thankful to have my wonderful parents in town this past weekend. They love Baltimore almost as much as I do, so I am always excited to take them back to their favorite spots and try new ones! Unfortunately, the weather was not ideal, but we typically spend our weekends eating anyway…the weather is always great inside the restaurants.

The highlight was taking them to see Kennedy Krieger – it’s so tough to explain the equipment and gait training technology I use at work, so I was excited to actually take them into the gym to give them a visual. It was great to actually show them my desk and where I spend my day.

We went from there to lunch in Canton at the BEST Italian market ever! There are apparently a few scattered around Baltimore, but Di Pasquale’s is definitely amazing. They are known for their meatball subs, which are delicious, but I changed it up this time for lasagna and a cold, raw calamari salad. Of course, you can’t go wrong with the brick oven pizzas. We sat right next to the brick oven and I loved watching them bring the pizza peel out and so gracefully “throwing” the pizza into the fire. For dessert, we had panettone bread pudding and Nutella fried dough. The bread pudding had such unique flavor however was a little dry (I think I’m spoiled with Momma’s Krispy Kreme Bread Pudding at this point). The Nutella fried dough made me feel like I was right in the middle of the North Carolina State Fair.

photo 1 photo 2 photo 3

We had dinner at Gertrude’s at the Baltimore Art Museum. Supposedly one of Baltimore’s best; however, it left something to be desired. First, the entrance was basically a construction site – the first impression as I walked through the tented walkway was the port-a-johns that were doubling as the restaurant’s facilities. Hardly what I want to use following a gourmet dinner (plus a walk outside in the bitter cold). Daddy and I both had the seared tuna over coconut rice. I think I was expecting a more Asian inspired Ahi tuna with some wasabi. Instead, the tuna was a bit overcooked for my taste and had a pretty terrible “garlic aioli” ALL OVER the top, which was really more like a spoonful of mayonnaise. I would give it a second chance, but I believe there are much better choices in Baltimore.

DSC_0610_2 DSC_0612

Overall, a great weekend! I was so happy they were able to stay for church on Sunday as well…and of course enjoy a dinner at Dalesio’s in Little Italy. That place never disappoints and is certainly a must each time they visit. Having dinner there with Daddy during his first visit to Baltimore last year is one of my favorite memories. The weather was great and we were able to sit upstairs on the patio to dine “al fresco” and enjoy a bottle of red wine and great conversation.

Already looking forward to their next visit in March! Hopefully my “gourmet” restaurant selection next time will top Gertrude’s.

Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

