Greek Yogurt Pancakes

Of course you’re reading this post because who could resist the title?! Two of my favorite things rolled into one DELICIOUS recipe.

I found this recipe on EveryDayBelle‘s blog and immediately went to the kitchen. But, I was watching The Chew, that really great cooking show that comes on in the middle of the day that I never get to see, so my pancake making was thankfully delayed. Because what were they making on the show? Pancakes!! With lemon zest, blueberries and blueberry syrup. Of course I needed to combine the 2 recipes into 1. The result: the best pancakes EVER. I need them everyday.

Okay, I stole the picture from EveryDayBelle’s blog. Sorry! But my camera takes such bad pictures that you would never want to make these delicious recipes I tell you about!

Here’s the recipe – you aren’t going to believe how easy it is.

6 oz greek yogurt (I used Chobani 0% vanilla, but you can probably be creative)

1 egg (I only used the egg white)

scant 1/2 cup flour

1 tsp baking soda

lemon zest to taste (or omit)

Mix everything up – just be careful not to overmix – and seriously watch the pancake batter start to rise in the bowl! I thought I wasn’t going to have enough batter as I was mixing, but they get so fluffy when you cook them that it’s way more than you think.

I made 4 small-ish pancakes with this and simply dropped some blueberries into the batter as they were cooking up so perfectly!

For the syrup (I prefer the sugar free kind because I think it tastes the same and I can choose to eat a little pancake with my syrup without feeling totally guilty). I heated up ~1/2c syrup in a small saucepan, added a few blueberries and crushed them slightly with a fork. Let the mixture heat up and voila: blueberry syrup!

This is seriously the easiest and most delicious pancake I have ever tasted. And obviously the most healthy! So, what are you going to do over this long holiday weekend?! Make pancakes, of course!

Happy Pancake making 🙂

~bb

 

Leave a Reply

