Superfoods

For as long as I can remember, my sister and I give up sweets for lent each year. My sister takes this vow rather lightly and creates reasons that she can have 1 piece of chocolate after lunch and considers white chocolate mochas ‘not really chocolate’. I, however, take it very seriously and use lent as more of a detox period each year. I may have taken it a little far this year, but I did discover several amazing new blogs and some great superfoods. Enjoy!

Superfood Salad

Definitely a new lunch staple for me 🙂

This amazing salad features shrimp that I sauteed in the delicious lemon vinaigrette, avocado, and quinoa. I wasn’t able to find the pomegranate arils, but it was great even without them.

Image

Find the recipe here: http://iowagirleats.com/recipes/superfood-salad-with-lemon-vinaigrette/ 

She has other great recipes to check out as well!

Green Monster!!!!!

cannot tell you how obsessed I am with this! I have always been a huge smoothie fan, even with my obnoxious blender. I used to only be able to make them for lunch because my roommate said my blender sounded more like a lawn mower than a cooking utensil. But, lately, these smoothies are the primary reason I decide not to sleep in. 

Image

Yes, it’s green and doesn’t necessarily look very appetizing. I promise you can’t taste the spinach – it really takes on the flavor of whatever you put in, but you will feel the energy and goodness of the spinach all morning.

Find a ton of great green monster combos here: greenmonstermovement.com

The creator of the Green Monster has a great blog with delicious vegan recipes I can’t wait to try. Check it out at ohsheglows.com

Here is my favorite recipe:

Banana-Peanut Butter Green Monster:

2 cups spinach

1 c. almond or coconut milk, unsweetened

1 tbls chia seeds

1/4 c. plain non-fat greek yogurt

1 banana, frozen

1/4 c. granola (I prefer the Nature’s Path Peanut Butter granola

2 tbls Pb2 or 1 tbls peanut butter

~4 ice cubes

Blend until smooth 🙂

PB2

Obviously I mentioned this during the smoothie recipe, but it deserves explanation…basically it’s peanut butter with all of the fat pressed out of it. This means 2 tbls only have 45, yes 45, calories!!!!!!! For someone that eats peanut butter for at least 2 meals a day, this is life-changing. My disclaimer is that it’s not as sweet as regular peanut butter and not as satisfying to eat alone, but in a smoothie or on an apple, you’ll never know the difference!

Image

Chia Seeds

I had never heard of these until a few weeks ago, but I am IN. LOVE. I am still unsure of exactly what they are because they’re not a traditional grain as they are low in carbs. All I know is that they are packed with anti-oxidants and other amazing nutritional benefits. I put them in my smoothie in the mornings and use them to thicken overnight oats (see the recipe for those here: http://www.pepperlynn.com/2012/02/overnight-oats-two-ways/ ).  Apparently they can also be used as a vegan substitute for eggs.

Image Image

I hope you can begin enjoying some of these “superfoods” as much as I am! Have fun being creative with green monster mix-ins and overnight oats toppings!

~bb

Leave a Reply

