Hello 2012!

Happy New Year! It looks like I’m already starting the year out being late since it’s January 15th, but I’m starting my blog fashionably late, kind of like me. For my first blog post, I’m going to go through several of my New Year’s Resolutions to solidify them in print and to remind myself that I HAVE to post on this blog, which is obviously a New Year’s Resolution. So, I’m not really a huge fan of New Year’s Resolutions because who cares what day it is – if you want to self improve, start any day…so my resolutions are really quite boring but important to me none the less. Hopefully the simplicity of them will mean I can actually follow through…

1. To make my bed every day. I know, the simple chore I should have learned at age 5. Here we are 20 years later and I’m still working on it. Who doesn’t love the feeling of a crisp, clean bed that has been neatly folded?? I definitely do, but drying my hair and drinking my daily espresso (if I cannot do those 2 things before leaving my apartment, I stay home) usually win at 6am.

  So, here is the future of my bed at 6am – clean, crisp, and wonderful. This leads me to my next resolution….

2. Be on time a.k.a. EARLY! I’m generally pretty picky about ‘professional behavior’ and am constantly irritated by my peers who choose to ignore this small piece of our professional school career. However, my lovely teammates recently informed me that being ‘fashionably late’ is, in fact, unprofessional. I never have my id card out to actually let me into class and I can’t get it out of my purse because I’m holding a giant bag, lunch box, my breakfast and the necessary espresso. It kind of ruins my morning, every morning, and I don’t think my professors thinks it’s as amusing as my friends do. So, I’m doing better.

3. Portion Control…haha! This is the most unlikely resolution for me to ever uphold, but I have to try. My favorite quote: I like running because I really, really, really, really like dessert. And in my case, it’s not even just dessert, it’s food in general. Since I’m currently not running 20 miles a week, it’s time I learned something about moderation. I rarely do anything in moderation (shopping, exercising, eating, talking, etc), but at least I’m admitting a problem. In February, I’m doing the Krispy Kreme Challenge (only to benefit charity, of course) where I will run 2.5 miles, eat a box of Krispy Kreme doughnuts, and run back. I’m starting off this resolution so well!

In case you didn’t know, I did eat the Krispy Kreme burger, topped with PB&J at the NC State Fair this year, so don’t underestimate my abilities.

4. To start this blog, obviously. I’ve always wanted be a ‘blogger’ so here it is. I have many interests, so I’m not quite sure what direction this blog will go, but I promise there will never be a dull post. For me, 2012 is “the year of doing, not wishing I was doing” so I’m doing what I want, when I want, with no excuses. Blogging is one of those things and hopefully it will keep my friends and family updated on what I’m doing and keep me entertained at the same time (or prevent me from actually studying, however you want to look at it).

5. Last, but probably most importantly, to feel happy and grateful every single day (I know, I know, cliche and cheesy, but I had to). I have an infinite list of things to be grateful for and in this world of plenty, it’s easy to always be wishing for more. While I am always aware of how blessed I am, I find myself losing sight of that sometimes and it makes me super frustrated with myself for feeling that way. I’m going to try to actually write down 5 things everyday that I’m grateful for so that I have  a tangible reminder in front of me. Apparently, this is one of those little secrets of incredibly happy people, so I don’t think it could be a bad idea.

Thanks for reading and I’m excited to start this blogging adventure!!

~bb

2 thoughts on “Hello 2012!

Leave a Reply

